image title

Ten trailblazing Chicagoans have been recognized as the 2023 Leaders for a New Chicago for their work to advance racial and social justice in communities across the city. Now in its fifth year, the Leaders for a New Chicago program recognizes individuals who are seeking to build a more inclusive city and are designing impactful approaches to civic discourse and action to shape Chicago’s landscape.

Each awardee will receive a no-strings-attached award of $25,000 to pursue their personal and professional goals, and their affiliated organizations will receive an additional $25,000 general operating grant. MacArthur and the Field Foundation partner to support the award to recognize leaders that align with Field’s grantmaking areas of Art, Justice, and Media & Storytelling, with a focus on organizations addressing systemic issues in Chicago’s historically underserved communities. Leaders from within existing grantee organizations of the Field Foundation and MacArthur’s Chicago Commitment and Chicago-based Journalism & Media grantees are eligible.

This year’s class of leaders includes artists, educators, journalists, organizers, and storytellers—reflecting the diversity of Chicago residents and the complexity of issues they face. Read more about the 2023 awardees and their accomplishments.



Carlos Flores, Programs Manager & Community Organizer, Chicago Art Department
Phil Jackson, Founder & Chief Executive Officer, The Firehouse Community Arts Center of Chicago
Yvette Moyo, Founder & Executive Director, Real Men Charities



Glo Choi, Community Organizer, HANA Center
Mark Clements, Community Organizer, Chicago Torture Justice Center
Ling Young, Youth Organizer, Southside Together Organizing for Power
Nasir Zakaria, Founder & Executive Director, Rohingya Culture Center


Media & Storytelling

Amethyst J. Davis, Founder, The Harvey World Herald
Vanessa Harris, President and Founder, Strategy for Access
Judith McCray, Founder & Creative Director, Juneteenth Productions