Madagascar Creates Nation’s First Community-Led Marine Protected Areas
April 23, 2015 | Grantee News | Conservation & Sustainable Development
Nosy Lava, one of the 16 islands of Ankarea Marine Park, one of three new marine protected areas created by the Government of Madagascar. CREDIT: Ambroise Brenier/WCS.

The government of Madagascar granted permanent protection to 27 protected areas, including the country’s first three community-led marine protected areas. The three marine parks total more than 1,200 square miles in size and are located along the west coast of Madagascar in what is known as the Mozambique Channel, home to the world’s second-most diverse coral population. Establishing these parks protects reefs, mangrove habitats, marine mammals, sea turtles, whale sharks, and manta rays, and protects biodiversity that supports more than 100,000 artisanal fishermen who rely on the ecosystem for food and revenue. The MacArthur-supported Wildlife Conservation Society assisted Madagascar in the creation of the protected zones. 

Stay Informed
Sign up for periodic news updates and event invitations.
Connect with us on social media or view all of our social media content in one place.

The privacy of your data is important to us. We've updated our privacy policies in response to General Data Protection Regulation.