Himalayan Nations Sign Adaptation Declaration at Climate Summit
December 6, 2011 | From the field | Conservation & Sustainable Development

The governments of India, Nepal, Bangladesh, and Bhutan signed a regional climate change adaptation declaration at the MacArthur-supported Climate Summit for a Living Himalayas in Bhutan.  The four countries agreed to cooperate on increasing access to “affordable and reliable” clean energy resources and technology; ecosystem and disaster management; knowledge sharing in water use efficiency, and improving understanding of impacts of climate change on water resources across the region; adaptive approaches to improving and sustaining food production; and the creation of an interconnected mosaic of conservation spaces across the Eastern Himalayas.

Read more.

Stay Informed
Sign up for periodic news updates and event invitations. Check out our social media content in one place, or connect with us on Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, and LinkedIn.