Grantee Profile


Grants to TEDxMidwest

  • $50,000

    2012 (Inactive Grant)

    Chicago Commitment

    CHICAGO, ILLINOIS — TEDxMidwest is a new, non-profit, all-volunteer organization created to organize and manage the TEDx event series, which has been held in Chicago since 2010. This grant will be used to support event production, speaker fees, audiovisual services, and Internet broadcasting services needed to record all the sessions and make them freely available online. TEDxMidwest has received critical acclaim for the quality of its presentations, and of the speakers, including Supreme Court justice Sandra Day O’Connor, anthropologist Meave Leakey, inventor Dean Kamen, psychologist Phil Zimbardo, actor Kevin Bacon, and MacArthur Fellow/urban developer Majora Carter.

The MacArthur Foundation awarded TEDxMidwest $50,000 between 1978 and 2018.