MacArthur Fellows Program

MacArthur Fellows / Meet the Class of June 1981

Derek Walcott

Poet and Playwright

Boston, Massachusetts

Age: 51 at time of award

Deceased: March 17, 2017

Published June 1, 1981

Derek Walcott is a West Indian poet and dramatist whose works deal with man’s relations to God and to society.

Walcott’s plays range through myth and folklore and tend to be loosely structured folk allegories written in Creole and English.  His plays include Dream on Monkey Mountain and Other Plays (1971), The Joker of Sevill and O’ Babylon!: Plays  (1978), Remembrance and Pantomime (1980), To Die for Grenada (1986), Odyssey: A Stage Version (1993), Walker and Ghost Dance: Plays (2002), and The Haitian Trilogy (2002).  Among his works of poetry are Selected Poems (1964), The Gulf (1970), Another Life (1973), The Star-Apple Kingdom (1979), Collected Poems, 1948-1984 (1986), The Arkansas Testament (1987), Omeros (1990), Derek Walcott: Selected Poems (1993),  The Bounty (1997), Tiepolo’s Hound (2000), and The Prodigal (2004).  He is also the author of the book of essays What the Twilight Says (1998), among many other works.

Walcott is a co-founder of the Trinidad Theater Workshop and a professor in the Department of English at Boston University.

Walcott received a B.A. (1953) from the University of the West Indies.

Last updated January 1, 2005.

What's New

“Beach Bard”

The Economist
Derek Walcott , 1981 MacArthur Fellow
Read More

"J. Mae Barizo on The Poetry of Derek Walcott, 1948-2013"

Los Angeles Review of Books
Derek Walcott , 1981 MacArthur Fellow
Read More

“Poet of the Caribbean”

The New York Times
Derek Walcott , 1981 MacArthur Fellow
Read More